Tofu and Pineapple Stir Fry

I’m going to warn you before you see the pictures, this stir-fry might look scary. But it’s not, I promise. It is sweet, salty, and soy-saucy, with a thick (not pathetic and watery) sauce. And here’s a big bonus: it’s easy to make. Oh, fast too. Wait, one more thing, it’s versatile. Throw in any vegetables you want, add some protein, and cook up a carb-y side to complete the meal. This recipe was originally made with shrimp, but my mom despises it, so in came the tofu. You could also use chicken, or fish, or hamburger DON’T use hamburger, that was a joke ahaa… Try jazzing this up with some spices! The options are endless. My family can’t complain about this recipe, they love it. If your family turns up their noses to something this good, I’m sorry. They must be hard to feed. I’d probably force feed them.

Here’s to a new meal for the weeknight menu.

Ingredients: 

  • 1 (20 oz) can of pineapple chunks in pineapple juice
  • 1 big square of tofu, diced (or meat of choice)
  • 1 (1lb) bag frozen vegetables (Fresh can also be used. I threw in a mix of both.)
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce

    DSCN0890

    Yum.

  • 2 Tablespoons cornstarch

Directions: 

  1. Drain pineapple, saving the juice. Take the pineapple juice and mix in the cornstarch and soy sauce.
  2. Cook the tofu until it is slightly golden, about 5-10 minutes. Remove to a plate.
  3. Place the vegetables in the pan and cook for 5 minutes. Add the pineapple juice mixture and tofu, then stir until sauce thickens.
  4. Add pineapple chunks and cook until heated. Serve over your favorite type of rice or pasta. I used wild rice. This is a great dinner, and the leftovers make a great lunch, or breakfast. Just whip this up whenever you want something simple, but flavorful. Enjoy.
DSCN0868

The weird gray stuff is wild rice. try it, it’s darn amazing.

I clipped this out of a random magazine ages ago, so uhm, I don’t remember where it came from exactly. All I know is that I didn’t make this up, so I’m not gonna take the credit. Cheers to whoever made it up.

Leave a Reply

