Random Thoughts #1

I’m at my grandma’s house, sitting on the couch, thinking about the City Turkey. “A City Turkey? Did it taste good?” Nope. I don’t eat bird meat. “Um, what is a City Turkey?” I was getting there! Anyways…

My sister and I were on the Harvard grounds, having a chat about life. At one point, careers came up. I mentioned something along the lines of wildlife rescue when I saw movement in the bushes. A turkey burst out. “A dead one?” No, alive and well, roaming around Harvard. I shrieked with delight (I love turkeys) and mumbled something about how the turkey needed rescuing. We watched it walking around (nobody was giving it a second glance, tell me city residents, are turkeys a common sight?) and eating flowers planted along the buildings. When my dad returned, he recognized the turkey. He said one time he had seen it standing under a bus stop, fearless of the people. It just roams around the whole of Cambridge, living life to the fullest.

I admire this turkey. Fearless, brave, strong. A true city trooper. Unfortunately I didn’t have my camera with me when this little (little?) hero went by. Here he is: http://boston.cbslocal.com/2014/04/07/turkey-sightings-reported-in-boston-cambridge/ (This might be a different turkey, but…)

Oh, and if you ever happen to visit Cambridge, go to Verna’s. They have amazing donuts. And bring a good pair of sneakers for walking. (Bring good shoes to any city, you usually walk a lot.) I brought my hot pink Nike shoes. Pink makes you walk and run faster. No joke*.

Cropped_Shoes

Pink Shoes!

*Joke

2 thoughts on “Random Thoughts #1

Leave a Reply

