Pepper Jelly

To many, this must sound foul. “Ew, pepper jelly?” Let me tell you something, something very important.

It’s not ew.

As I mentioned in my about page, I love odd foods like peanut butter and pepper jelly sandwiches. Yay for sweet, salty, and spicy. This recipe makes a slightly vinegar-y jelly, but I still think it is delish. A possible alternative (I haven’t tried it yet) is to replace some of the vinegar, maybe 1/4-1/2 cup, with apple juice, which would mellow the vinegar flavor. So anyways, this jelly can go on anything from crackers, to cheese, to bread, (and peanut butter!), and just about anything that needs a sweet and spicy kick. I think I put it in my black bean soup the other day. I’m mildly obsessed with this stuff.

The ingredients are pretty basic. Peppers, sugar, vinegar. Here’s the scary different part: you can it yourself! Canning is basic; all you need is a giant pot and some clean canning jars. You need to sterilize your cans: simmer them, not boil, at 180 degrees F for about 15 minutes. Fill the cans, then stick ’em in the hot water bath and wait around impatiently patiently.

Making this sweet, spicy, and addictive jelly has never been easier. I just eat it plain sometimes. I hope that isn’t totally weird.

Ingredients:

  • 8 large jalapenos

    FSCN0988

    It’s green…and delicious.

  • 1 whole bell pepper (any color)
  • 6 cups sugar-pre measured into a bowl
  • 2 cups white vinegar or apple cider vinegar (I used a mix of both)
  • 1 box powdered pectin or 6 tablespoons from a bulk jar
  • Green or red food coloring, very optional

Directions: 

  1. Remove the tops and seeds of the peppers. If you want spicy jelly, keep seeds from one or two peppers. Put peppers in a food processor with a half of the vinegar. Blend up (or chop by hand and take like 90,000 years). In a largish saucepan put the rest of the vinegar, pectin, and peppers.
  2. Bring to a boil, then add all the sugar at once. It will seem like a ton, but you need all of it. Actually, it IS a ton of sugar. I don’t want to make you believe that six cups of sugar is a small amount, ahaa… Stir until all the sugar is melted. Bring back to a boil, then remove it from the heat. Stir in food coloring. Use only 1-2 drops.
  3. Pour the jelly into sterilized jars, (see above for sterilizing directions) then place the lids on tightly. Place them in a LARGE pot of boiling water-each jar should be covered by two inches of water-and process for 10-15 minutes. Be careful not to touch the insides of the jars after sterilizing. Yucky germs, people.
  4. Let the jars cool overnight. Be careful not to burn yourself making jelly. Don’t be a bozo like me and stick your fingers into boiling jam ’cause you wanna taste it. Be patient. This amazing jelly is well worth the wait.
DSCN0987

I love eating this stuff on a snowflake roll with peanut butter. Amazing.

I got this recipe from this fun little food blog I found while looking for a good pepper jelly recipe. Here’s the original recipe:http://foodbycarrie.blogspot.com/2012/07/jalapeno-jelly-8-half-pint.html

Leave a Reply

