Whole Wheat Banana Pancakes

Today is a very, very sad day. A true tragedy for me, my sister, and all the other kids in our area.

Today is the last day of summer vacation.

I woke up this morning, feeling miserable and down in the dumps. When I woke up, I trudged into the kitchen, almost eating a boring breakfast of a bagel and peanut butter. Then I got an idea. A delicious idea. A pancake idea. I hopped on the computer and checked Sally’s Baking Addiction for a tasty (and healthy!) recipe. These whole wheat pancakes are darn good even though I um, forgot to put in the eggShhhh. The ripe banana adds a natural sweetness while the Greek yogurt makes them moist and flavorful. A warm, healthy stack of pancakes will make anyone’s morning (or evening) better. They cured my down in the dumps-ness and fueled my run.

I am going to miss making breakfast in the mornings. Why, why must school start so early? 

Ingredients: 

  • 1 1/3 cup whole wheat flour

    DSC_0321

    Peaches and peanut butter on pancakes is actually good.

  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup milk (skim, 1%, 2%, almond, soy, whatever works best for you)
  • 1/2 cup mashed banana (about 1 large banana)
  • 2 Tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup Greek yogurt (plain, vanilla, nonfat, full-fat, whichever you prefer)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions: 

  1. Whisk flour, salt, baking powder, and cinnamon in a large bowl. In a different bowl, combine the egg, milk, banana, brown sugar, yogurt, and vanilla. Stir until very few lumps remain.
  2. Make a well in the dry ingredients. Pour in the wet ingredients and stir batter gently. Don’t mix too much, over-mixing will cause grossness.
  3. Heat a skillet over medium heat. Coat pan with cooking spray, butter, or oil. Make the pancakes any size you like. A common measurement is about 1/4 cup batter per pancake. Let the pancake cook until bubbles start forming at the top. Flip, then let cook for 2-3 minutes more. Keep the made pancakes in a 200 degree oven to prevent cold, sad breakfast.
  4. Once all the pancakes are made, cover them with delicious toppings, then eat them. I used peanut butter, cinnamon, and yogurt. Yum.

You’ll love these sadness curing pancakes. I sure needed them today.

This tasty recipe came from Sally’s Baking Addiction. I should probably change my blog name to A Summary of Sally’s Baking Addiction by Grace. Here’s the original recipe: http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2014/01/02/whole-wheat-banana-pancakes/

Leave a Reply

