Free-for-all Granola

Once upon a time, I was eating my 10,000th  bowl of store bought granola and yogurt. I love to read while I munch, so I grabbed the box and read the ingredient list on the back. Much to my surprise, the ingredients weren’t too crazy (keep in mind I was eating an “all natural” brand). It was just oats, sugar, oil, salt, vanilla, and some tasty preservatives. But even that short list didn’t inspire me. The next day I poured my 10,001th bowl of that sugary and overpriced granola. That continued for a very long time…Then I found out an amazing secret.

Making your own granola is very simple, totally not daunting, and so delicious. Not to mention healthy.

You need oats, a thick sweetener (think syrup, honey, or agave), nut butter, and some add-ins like dried fruit, nuts, or chocolate if you’re feeling a sweet craving. Oh, I almost always add vanilla and spices too. Gives the granola a nice flavor.

I call this Free-for-all Granola because you can use pretty much anything that’s lying around in your pantry. This recipe makes a small batch of granola because I only had two cups of oats in the house. It was really tragic. But you could double the recipe, or triple it. Or use almond butter instead of peanut butter. Or use honey instead of syrup. Use your imagination and make a delicious, homemade granola that you will want to eat in one sitting.

DSC_0334

Top this stuff with fruit- so good.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (or any nut butter)
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup (or other sticky sweetener)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • Any tasty add-ins you want

Directions: 

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Mix the oats, salt, and cinnamon in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, melt the peanut butter in the microwave then add the syrup. Stir well. Add the vanilla.
  2. Pour the peanut butter mixture over the oats. Mix until all the oats are covered. Cover a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silpat mat. Spread the granola evenly over the baking sheet, taking extra special care to have large clusters. Large clusters are critical.
  3. Bake for 20-25 minutes, stirring frequently. (It burns easily!) Once it is done baking, let it cool on the baking sheet for about 15 minutes. Pour it into an airtight container. Eat it all day, every day.

Granola is the savior of the world. Make it now. Check your pantries. So simple, so good, so easy. That line was so cheesy.

I’m sorry.

Leave a Reply

