No-Bake Oatmeal Cookie Bites

Hello! It has been quite a while. I wish I could say I had a decent excuse for my prolonged absence. I mean, I do have an excuse, but it is not decent in the slightest.

I’ve been lazy to the max. Great excuse, right?  I haven’t spent much time in the kitchen. Instead, I’ve been lounging around in Connecticut and Boston eating lazy person fare (aka peanut butter and jelly sandwiches) while dreaming about living a successful life. I’m not making much progress, obviously. Oops.

Now to talk about these cookie bites. They are the perfect summer dessert. There is absolutely no reason to turn on the oven and slow roast your family. The weather is hot enough. They are also somewhat healthier than your average cookie, but don’t get too excited. There is still sugar in them. And chocolate. Can’t forget the chocolate.

These cookie bites are made with peanut butter, chia seeds, flax seeds, oats, cranberries, honey, and chocolate chips. Hurrah. If any of these ingredients sound unappetizing to you, you’re in luck. You can easily substitute the ingredients. You could use almond butter, raisins, agave, and butterscotch chips instead. Go crazy with the variations. These might taste good with almond butter and maple syrup rather than peanut butter and honey. Now I’m regretting that I didn’t use that combination first.

As I was mixing the ingredients, I tried to think of a good name for these little cookie bites. Due to the bird food like ingredients, I really wanted to have the word ‘bird’ in the name. Initially, I wanted to call them “bird balls.” At first that sounded like a wonderful plan. Then I thought about it some more. Finally,  I came to the realization that “bird balls” was possibly one of the worst names I could’ve thought of. My second idea was to call them “bird bites.” That name seemed alright at first, but it sounded too much like a meaty hor d’oeurve that you would be offered at a fancy party. After a few more feeble attempts (bird seed cookies, bird spheres) I gave up on the idea of putting ‘bird’ into the name.

That, my friends, is how I came up with the boring, unoriginal, unexciting name: No Bake Oatmeal Cookie Bites.

But don’t fear. These cookies do not taste boring, original, or unexciting. They are sweet, oat-y, chocolate-y, and peanut buttery. Maybe just a little bird-y too.

DSC01068

Wow, you can see all of the ingredients! That’s uncommon these days. 

Ingredients: 

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup peanut butter (or allergy friendly alternative)
  • 1/4 cup chia seeds
  • 1/4 cup flax seeds, finely ground (I used a coffee grinder)
  • 2/3 cup honey
  • 3/4 cup mini chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup cranberries

Directions: 

  1. Mix all ingredients in a large bowl. Chill for at least 30 minutes, then roll dough into 1 inch balls. Store in the refrigerator in an airtight container.

Very simple, very easy. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “No-Bake Oatmeal Cookie Bites

  1. Dear Grace,

    Very funny blog this time:) I love your sense of humor and sarcasm. Perhaps we can make some this weekend.

    Love,
    Moo

    Like

Leave a Reply

